Sometimes All It Takes Is Good Soul Douching

The great thing about heartache or turmoil for me is that inevitably a few days after the initial “shock”, I get a crazy urge to tackle stuff (hence, my tiling project 3 months ago, painting the hallway 2 months ago, etc.). And as I sit here and type this post, I am reaping the rewards of this weird healing cycle.

Yesterday morning I decided to get medieval on my garage, workroom, and storage room, as well as the storage space under my deck. Woo hoo! It was a spur of the moment thing and lasted about 8 hours. Not only are these areas orderly and delightfully clean, but my mind is feeling clearer as well. It was a very productive distraction.

Maybe my urge to purge around my house is a symbolic act of cleaning up and letting go in my brain. That while de-junking one area in my life, it sort of gives my mind and heart a good scrub down.

Needless to say, I’m feeling pretty good. And despite the erratic texts I continue to receive, along with a little self doubt, it’s clear to me that I will get past this… Hell, I’m already getting past it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Babble, House and Home, I'm a dork, Life, Romance, YES!

4 Comments on “Sometimes All It Takes Is Good Soul Douching”

  1. zeghsy Says:

    erratic texts?! what’s that all about?

  2. meggypoo Says:

    Oh, you know, the “thanks for sending my key back” followed by angry ranting. Also the “do you want the (gift) you bought me back”. I see it as a way to stay in contact and also exhibit his anger (and immaturity). I try to not respond, and assume that they’ll end.

  3. The Grunt Says:

    My room could benefit from a little “soul douching”. It’s good to see that you are not wallowing in self pity. As Oprah would say, you go girl!

  4. Mike Says:

    damn damn damn….I always reply before I read the rest of your posts and could have really reaped the benefits of your aggressions (need these walls stripped still lil girl 😛 )

    You seem to do your best work (and for others btw) grrrrrr

    If you’re that damn good, grunt and pants should have styling livingroom decor 😛 lol with me next on the list for your talents 😉


Leave a Reply

