Never Happier To Be An Idiot

IE349-680

*Warning: You may need to grab the nearest trash can or garbage bag to catch and contain the vomit from the cheese that this post might induce.

Occasionally I’ll be watching a movie and I’ll hear a line that really resonates with me.

When I saw the movie Never Been Kissed (which, let me clarify, was not the best movie ever, but that’s besides the point), Drew Barrymore’s character said something that I’ll never forget. It was something that perfectly captured what I wanted, but never had:

You know, that moment when you kiss someone and everything around you becomes hazy. And the only thing in focus is you and that person. And you realize that that person is the only person that you’re supposed to kiss for the rest of your life. And for one moment you get this gift. And you want to laugh and you want to cry because you feel so lucky that you found it and so scared that it will go away all at the same time.

I remember when I heard this line how much I longed to experience this feeling. Don’t get me wrong… I loved my husband. I don’t want to discount the relationships I’ve had or say that the love wasn’t real. But there was never that absolute knowing it was right or a burning “I was born to love you” moment with him. Or with anyone. I came to believe that those kinds of feelings are what movies are made of, but not exactly realistic.

I am happy (more than I can ever express in words) to report that I was wrong.

Explore posts in the same categories: General Stuff, Good Times, Life, Love is in the air, Men, Romance

7 Comments on “Never Happier To Be An Idiot”

  1. Punk Says:

    are the invitations in the mail?

  2. The Grunt Says:

    Let me guess…you kissed Katy Perry and you liked it?

  3. meggypoo Says:

    Punk- No… but then again, since I’ve already done the whole big wedding thing, if I were to do it again, eloping sounds like a good plan.

    Grunt- YES! I did. I think it was the taste of her cherry chapstick that did it for me.

  4. Dax Says:

    I love that movie! It’s because of that movie that I know I’m not supposed to wear white after 1983.

    Congrats and good on ya. I could feel the twitterpation from all the way over here. Or was that gag reflex. Never sure, they have such varied and subtle degrees of difference. Either way, enjoy it for everything it is and for the possibilities of what it might become 🙂

  5. meggypoo Says:

    Dax- See… I knew there was a point to that movie :). Also, WHO ARE YOU?

  6. Pants Says:

    I love that movie.

    So happy for you! 🙂

  7. dax Says:

    What!?!? Who am I? OMG!!! Remember that chick from that one place where that guy gave you that thing and you laughed and laughed and laughed and dern near soiled your costume? Well, I’m neither of those people, but it was pretty funny.


Leave a Reply

