Love and Cheesecake

It’s a rarity when I get to spend some one-on-one time with my kids. Last week it hit me… I really miss them. So I decided to start something new.

Once a month, on a night the kids are at their dad’s house (don’t worry, Dad supports this), I will take one child and do something fun with them. Just the two of us.

Last night was numero uno.

My oldest and I went to the Cheesecake Factory, where, according to him, he ate the 2nd best pizza he’s ever tasted :), AND the best cheesecake.

ian1

Then we hit Toys R Us so that he could show me what he wants for his birthday. He can be my most difficult child. But he is also incredibly adorable, smart, funny, and sweet. The night literally couldn’t have gone better.

I’m usually so busy cleaning, breaking up fights, attempting to keep order between 5 “spirited” children that I sometimes forget to see them as the amazing little individuals that they are.

I had a fabulous time last night and look forward to my next child “date”.

Explore posts in the same categories: Family, Good Times, Kids, Motherhood

2 Comments on “Love and Cheesecake”

  1. Carla Says:

    What a great idea. We’ve done that with the girls on occasion and they love it too. Good job!

  2. Round 2 « Says:

    […] month and spend an evening with them doing something of their choice? If not then you should read here or even here (did I forget to post about Emma’s date? […]


Leave a Reply

