Good Bye :(

I’m not ready for this thing called summer to end.

First of all, I was kind of screwed out of June. It rained most of the month, which meant it was kind of cold (relatively), and in all fairness, I think that Mother Nature should maybe throw in a bonus month. We could call it Augober.

Secondly, school starts for everyone this next Wednesday and while there ARE some benefits to this, I must admit that the summer with the kids has been fun! They’ve have had built in playmates this year (when not being enemies). And for the first time, I’ve felt OK letting the kids out in the front to ride bikes without worrying that they’ll be run over, kidnapped, or maimed in some way. This is partly due to their age and partly due to the fact that we now live in a circle.

I’m going to miss being able to sit outside with Mr. N at night enjoying the warm summer air and all of the sounds and smells that accompany it. It also sucks that our every other weekend jaunts to various corners of Utah will come to an end. Winter camping just isn’t my thing.

Lastly, during the school year, my life really isn’t my own. Some think that it’s GREAT when kids are in school. You get time to go grocery shopping without looking like a hen with 5 chicks following behind. Time to clean without it being undone in 5.3 minutes. Time to maybe shower before 3 pm. Time to get together for lunch with friends, or even read a book. That sounds good and all, but I still have a 3 year old at home whose preschool only allots me a few hours a week in which to have any child-free time. AND, I volunteer in my kids classes, so with 4 children in school this year, I think I’m going to be spread a little thin.

Guess what I’m saying is that it’s been a great summer and I’m sad it’s coming to an end. Boo hoo.

Explore posts in the same categories: Family, Good Times, House and Home, Kids, Life, Motherhood

2 Comments on “Good Bye :(”

  1. Sarah Bisel Says:

    bring on the fall. I am seriously melting this summer! You had rain, we had none. I am about to die of heat exhaustion. Do you want to come move here? Summer never dies here. Ahhhh. Okay, maybe it’s the pregnancy talking….sorry your summer is ending. I’ll try to mourn for you.

  2. meggypoo Says:

    Yeah, but your fall is like our deadliest of summers :). I imagine you melting because, 1) you live in the bowel of hell and 2) you’re prego. Greg LOVES the heat and has specifically named AZ as his choice of state to live approximately 934 times. So, you never know 🙂


Leave a Reply

