Lovely!

Yesterday was nothing short of awesome!

I got to sleep in  (which for me was 8:00 a.m.), and was welcomed into the day with a kiss, a “Happy Mother’s Day”, my first 2 gifts, and  breakfast in bed. We were inspired by the beautiful morning and decided to head to Home Depot to pick up the plants for our garden as well as another part of my Mother’s Day gift… a water fountain or feature for outside.

We grabbed the garden loot and headed over to where the water features are. I found something I absolutely love (I have a thing for pondless water features) and was pleasantly surprised to find it 50% off! Happy Mother’s Day indeed! We came home and Greg worked on organizing and cleaning out the shed while I planted the garden. For some reason having a garden is a lot of fun for me, and I want to be there for it’s “birth” and to watch it grow and develop. After the garden was all planted, I started on the water feature. SO EASY! It took us less than 30 minutes, and I love how it looks and sounds. I am already envisioning the summer days and evenings enjoying this little piece of art while reading, relaxing, and having fun with family and friends.

It was my kids weekend with their dad, but because it was M.D., I was able to spend most of the day with them. They (with some serious help from Mr. N) picked out wonderful gifts for me. It was a perfect mix of the sweet handmade gifts that make Mother’s Day complete,  fun and function! Ian made me a really cute booklet that have “free job” tickets inside, plus a few notes and pictures of him. And the twins made these cute paper plate flower things with chores they will do on each flower. CUTE!

I also got handmade cards from all of the kids, a bike helmet, volleyball, iTunes gift card, cookbook from Alex & Riley, mini food processor, and an ice cream maker attachment to my Kitchenaid. Woo hoo!

My parents came for an early dinner, and it was nice to be able to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful weather while eating and visiting. Our friends Sarah and Dave stopped by to pick up their car (which was parked at our house for the weekend) and ended up staying a while to chat and eat. The more the merrier!

After everyone left, the kiddos bathed and we all watched a movie together. Then off to bed!

This day was pretty much ideal in every way. Thanks to Greg (thank you Sweetie!), the kids, and my parents who made my Mother’s Day a wonderful one :).

Explore posts in the same categories: Family, Friends, General Stuff, Good Times, House and Home, Kids, Life, Motherhood

One Comment on “Lovely!”

  1. kimmy0808 Says:

    You are so lucky to have a very sweet children. It’s actually my first time and i hope when she grow up ( my daughter) she’ll write me letters on my birthday, mother’s day and christmas just like what i did to my mom when i was young


Leave a Reply

