It’s Gotta Go Wednesday

You doubted I’d stick to my newly started Wednesday post. I know you did. But because I’m constantly asking myself, WWJD, and am on the verge of sainthood, you are forgiven.

I’m not a shopper. That being said, I don’t hate or want vengeance on cashiers. But for the second week in a row, it’s them that my beef is with. The most shocking part of this story is this: I went shopping, and not for groceries, twice in one week. It was a monumental occasion, and that’s not necessarily a good thing. ANYWAY, some girl holding three… just a mere THREE purses… was in line in front of me. How long could it take to check out THREE items? Ha!

“Can you tell me how much this purse costs? It doesn’t have a price tag on it.” – stupid girl

Cashier spends what felt like 2348 hours searching for tag for purse (real-time was probably closer to 3 minutes).

Insert a lot of stupid back and forth between the stupid girl and the stupid cashier.

Stupid cashier gets on special phone to call the magical price expert.

Price expert calls back, asks stupid questions, cashier hangs up stupid phone.

A minute passes.

Phone rings again. More questions. Phone receiver replaced.

So as stupid girl and stupid cashier stare at each other with stupid looks on their stupid faces, it doesn’t occur to either of them to maybe help the people in the line forming, and forming, and forming, behind the counter. FINALLY, after what felt like enough time to pass that led me to want to punch them both in the face, the girl’s dad came up, and after a minute of more nonsense that still didn’t lead to the capture of this elusive price, he took purse and girl to the “Accessories” counter to sort it out himself.

I was so bugged with the cashier that I walked away from the counter as soon as we put our stuff down and made Greg deal with it. I didn’t want to say anything rude, and didn’t think that removing the crappy look on my face was possible, so I thought removing myself from the situation was the best idea.

Sniff… Thank you for reliving this painful memory with me.

I’m not a jerk. I can exhibit patience. But there are limits to the niceties that I can muster. I just don’t get how illogical and rude some people can be. I have no problem waiting my turn, but for crying out loud, go to customer service to ask questions like this. More importantly, when you see a huge line forming behind you, maybe step aside and let a few others be helped while the answer to your question is in the works. And stupid cashier, how about you get through a few patrons while you’re waiting for your other idiot colleagues to track down the price that confused an entire department store. Display a little common sense along with an awareness of what is going around you, along with some common courtesy.

That’s all for now.

Explore posts in the same categories: Babble, Beotch & Moan...Woe is me

One Comment on “It’s Gotta Go Wednesday”

  1. The Grunt Says:

    Preach it, sister!


Leave a Reply

