It’s Gotta Go Wednesday

As a kid I developed a love for certain comics, specifically The Far Side and Calvin & Hobbes. Thanks to my dad and older siblings, we had quite a few of the full books of Calvin comics. I loved Calvin… an incredibly rambunctious, creative, hilarious, make-a-mother-want-to-run-away, sweet, sometimes sinister but always funny kid. So you can imagine how I feel when I see a bumper sticker such as this one:

You may think these stickers are funny if:

  1. You have an IQ of less than 90.
  2. You consider cowboy boots part of formal wear.
  3. You are a 13-year-old boy.
  4. Your uncle and daddy are one-in-the-same.
  5. You have a truck that has been lifted, AND has a gun rack.
  6. Howard the Duck is one of your favorite movies.

If you love your car, that’s great! I’m all about supporting the brands that you’re a fan of. But all the Calvin peeing sticker does is tell me that you’re a dumb arse. These stickers rival those stupid “balls” that those who I hope go first in a plague men hang on the tow hitch of their trucks. CLASSY! Yeah, nothing says “I’m awesome” like a veiny plastic mold of the family jewels. It’s a total turn on to us ladies.

I’m pretty confident in saying that Calvin & Hobbes creator Bill Watterson does not approve nor does he benefit from these tacky stickers. And personally, it causes the bile to rise in my throat to see these stupid, white trash stickers on the back window of some red-necks truck. It goes against the spirit of the comic itself.

Regardless of if you liked Calvin & Hobbes or not, let us band together and publicly shame (or at the very least mock) the morons with the Calvin peeing on (insert car manufacturer, politicians, person, etc) in the window of their truck/car. Because these stickers have GOT TO GO.

Explore posts in the same categories: Babble, Damn it, Good Times, Vexation

2 Comments on “It’s Gotta Go Wednesday”

  1. erica Says:

    I could not stop laughing when I was reading this post! HILARIOUS! Your description of Calvin and Hobbs (which I also loved as a kid) at the beginning of your post made me think I should have named Jordan “Calvin” instead. And nothing makes me cringe/shudder/roll my eyes more than when I see the fake balls swinging from the hitch of a pickup. Time to grow up, I’d say. 😉

  2. The Grunt Says:

    The only way I would put one of these stickers on my truck is if Calvin was pissing on one of the Family Circle kids.


Leave a Reply

