Take No Prisoners

I’m not sure if it’s the smell of (or my hope for) Spring in the air, but I have been bit by the organization and throw crap out bug.

There are two types of people in this house: 1) Those who see everything they’ve ever gotten as having value, either monetary or emotional. 2) Those who can look at a cute drawing their child did, and then throw it away without even a pang of guilt when their child leaves the room. I happen to be the later of the two.

No, I’m not dead inside OR a jerk. I do keep the best and cutest of my kids homework and art projects. But they do SO MUCH stuff that honestly, I don’t have room to store every scrap of paper with a rainbow or flower on it, especially when some of them go through a ream a month. Even though I am a complete opposite of a pack rat, you’ve got to remember that there are a few hoarders living in this house. And in a house full of 7 people, crap accumulates quickly.

One night last week as I was putting laundry away, I started going through my closet. 3 hours and 2 garbage bags full of clothes plus 8 pairs of shoes later, my wardrobe was officially purged. I feel a little guilty about throwing some of the things out… I have quite a few nice and cute shirts in new condition. But my rule is, if I haven’t worn it in over 1-2 years, I probably don’t need it.

This week is a busy one, but I have some big plans for our bathroom, the hall closet (aka… where medicine that is probably 5 years expired lives), and the kitchen drawers. I’m not sure why, but having things de-cluttered and organized has a calming effect on me. When the house is messy, I can sense my stress levels rise. Maybe that’s the reason when I’m frustrated or mad, I clean the house :).

I’ve given up hope of changing the ways of others. Yes,Β  have secret desires to burn half of the “collectables” in our home, but I will respect the hoarding illness items of others, even if I don’t understand it. The clutter I CAN control, well, you’d better watch out this week!

Explore posts in the same categories: Babble, Family, House and Home

3 Comments on “Take No Prisoners”

  1. Carla Says:

    We are the same!! πŸ™‚ I love to organize, clean and purge anything that doesn’t get used. I love watching organization shows (sad huh?) and when the house is organized and clean I am a much happier person. Less is more!! (wish I could help you…maybe next year.) πŸ™‚

  2. meggypoo Says:

    Except your house is always a lot more organized and clean (I blame the kids πŸ˜‰ ). How about I help you! Cleaning is fun, but more fun with a friend.

  3. Sarah Bisel Says:

    Looks like we come from the same family or something!


Leave a Reply

