Cock-a-doodle-do

Today I experienced what is my first of a few (and potentially many) injections of synthetic hyaluronic acid joint lubricant into my left knee. According to the nurse, this “lubricant” is made of “chicken hoods”, which I’m not sure about because I thought it was the rooster that had the hood. Kind of creepy. And AWESOME! I am not typically even the least bit squeamish when it comes to needles or medical procedures, but having a large (much larger than the needle for the cortisone shots) needle plunged into the teeny, tiny, easy to have an error in calculation space between my joints isn’t my idea of a good time. The stupid numbing shot hurt just as much as the injection, which leaves me wondering if it sort of defeats the purpose. Oh well.

Kids are sick again, and my throat was feeling left out and is joining the game. Well, it’s been all of a month, so it’s about time for another round of viruses to hit. Seriously, I’m going to start bathing everyone in rubbing alcohol and getting everyone in our family individual full body bubbles.

Speaking of being sick, I’m trying to get everyone ready to leave town in 2 days. Preparing for a “vacation” makes me miss being a kid. I used to pack my bag, and that was the beginning and end of my trip preparations. I never realized how much work my mom used to do to get everything ready. SO, the next few days I “get” to tackle all of the laundry, get 6 people packed (yes, I make Greg pack his own bag 🙂 ), ready the van, load all of our crap into the van, make sure we have enough movies and entertainment to shut the kids up for the 4 hour trek, and hold on to my sanity.

Last week was parent teacher conferences at school. I typically dedicate an entire post to the subject, but I think I can summarize it in a paragraph. OUR KIDS ARE AWESOME! Their grades were excellent, their citizenship reports were great, and their teachers all had wonderful things to say about them. I’m one proud mama!

I think it hit 55 degrees yesterday, which meant sitting outside in a tank top is appropriate. Today at Costco, which is typically a “get in, get out” trip for me, I slowly walked the isles with the patio furniture. And I seriously thought about dropping $2000+ on outdoor stuff. Of course I would never do it, but it is evidence that I am SO ready for Spring :).

Explore posts in the same categories: Bodily Functions, Family, Good Times, Kids, Life

One Comment on “Cock-a-doodle-do”

  1. erica Says:

    Me.Too. Come on, spring! I’m sorry to hear you guys are sick again! But enjoy your trip to St. George anyway. Soak up some sunshine and bring some back. 🙂 Hope your knee feels better!


Leave a Reply

