Better Late Than Never

Since Christmas, it’s been tough getting caught up on my dates with the kids. One month gets missed and now I’ve been playing catch up.

Technically April was Emma’s date month. Which means March was Ian’s, but I did Cooper’s date night in March because I got behind, and, well, you get the idea. Last Thursday I took Ian out for this beloved event. First we hit an early movie (The Green Hornet, which was sort of lame, but he enjoyed it, so that’s all that matters). Thanks to a $5 off card for his birthday, TGIF was where we ate. I keep thinking of Ian as a little kid, and my gut reaction is to get the kids menu for him. But he’s 11 years old, and the mini meals just aren’t cutting it anymore. I ordered a yummy salad, and Ian got a cheeseburger. He barely finished it, which means I guess he’s not fully a man yet :).


I’m sure that these posts about my date nights are all starting to sound the same, but I can’t express how grateful I am for this little one-on-one time with the kids. These nights they are all so well-behaved, which makes it  definitely worth it and it’s always a pleasure for me. Soon enough my kiddos will want me to drop them off a block away so that other people won’t realize that they actually have a mother, so I’m enjoying the days that they adore me, want to spend time with me, fight to be the one who gets to sit next to me, and actually are happy when it’s my day to volunteer in their classrooms. Ah, motherhood… it’s a sweet thing.

Explore posts in the same categories: Family, Good Times, Just for fun, Kids, Motherhood

Leave a Reply

