A Few For The Summer

The baby shower this weekend… I’ll get back to you on that one.

But let’s talk on a different subject. BOOKS.

I’m a reader and I always have been. I was one of those kids who really looked up to and tried to emulate my dad, and my dad happens to be an avid reader. Maybe it would have been best if some of my first “real” books read hadn’t been authored by Stephen King, but that’s a whole other story. The point is, I developed a love for reading at a pretty young age, and it’s one of my favorite pastimes (which really becomes more of a present-time, because I easily get engrossed).

When it comes to me and books, they fall into 3 categories: 1) Books that I start but can never really get into and I never finish (this rarely happens). 2) Books that I like, but it may take me a few weeks to finish (This happens probably 15% of the time). 3) Books that I love and finish within a day or two. The majority of books fall into this category.

Because my husband is wise, he got me a book for Mother’s Day and one for my B-day. One of these said books, A Dog’s Purpose, by W. Bruce Cameron, is a story told from the perspective a dog. A dog who happens to be reincarnated a few times. It was an amazing read which caused 3… yes 3… break down and sob episodes. It reminded me of my dog Shela (who died a few years ago), and brought up a lot of emotion surrounding that incident as well as my +decade with her. It was an amazing read that made me laugh, cry, and really reflect on what type of person I am and evaluate how that aligns with the person I want to be. I HIGHLY recommend it, even if you aren’t an animal or dog lover.

And since I finished it last night, Greg brought home a new book to me this morning. The Art of Racing in the Rain, which oddly enough, is another book told from the perspective of a dog. LOVED IT! This book caused on 1 cry fest, so that’s an improvement. Another book that is wonderful and I recommend.

The other book (the one from Mother’s Day), $#*! My Dad Says, literally made me laugh out loud. It is irreverent, hilarious, and at times touching. Read it (as long as you are OK with gratuitous profanity 🙂 ).

Sometimes a book is kind of like pretty much any Michael Bay movie… distracting and somewhat entertaining for a few hours, until you go back to the real world. But most of the time books reach me on a deeper level. Maybe it’s because of the time you have to invest to finish one, and maybe it’s because the characters are better developed and you become invested in them. For whatever the reason, each book I read affects me on some level, and kind of becomes a part of who I am. I’m always sad when I finish one, and there is a little grieving process in saying goodbye to the characters I’ve come to know and love. The great thing is, there is always another one willing to take the last one’s place.

Summer is nearly here, which means it’s time for some good reading in the hammock quality time. Now you’ve got some leads on where to start :).

Explore posts in the same categories: Babble, Good Times

4 Comments on “A Few For The Summer”

  1. piper Says:

    what ever happened to our High Class Bitches Book Club?????? Have you read The Book Thief???? This book is “one of those”. It will become a part of your DNA. love you!

  2. meggypoo Says:

    Yeah, I suck. BUT, I am “out” of books, and am (as soon as I post this) going to get The Book Thief on my Kindle. Woo hoo! I love you too! OK, really this time, what book are we going to read next? This time I will actually read the book :).

  3. erica Says:

    I love reading, too! Piper keeps telling me about these great books she’s reading and I need to write them down so I can get my hands on them. And you have a Kindle? Do you love it? Should I get one?

  4. Matt Says:

    Reading is fun. I have been reading a lot these past months. I’ll have to check some of these books out. You should check out my reply to your comment on my last post. A little less “between the lines” as far as the weekly “Star Trek” convention goes.


Leave a Reply

