If I Knew Then What I Know Now…

6 months ago I had my first skin check. Now I am supposed to go every year for a re-check. My fair-ish complexion, long history (some more recent than others) of sunburns, and more importantly, my family history of skin cancer has put me in the high risk category for melanoma as well as other skin cancers. It’s also made me re-think my desires to lay out in the sun, even if it’s just to get a healthy glow. I’m still not as careful as I should be, and occasionally I forget to put on sunscreen, but it’s a work in progress and I’m definitely getting better and being more careful.

I am really good at sunscreening my kids, but even now and again, a spot gets missed or on days like yesterday, when my kids were at a swim camp and responsible for reapplying it themselves, they get a little pink from time to time. I think it’s most important to be aware and realize that even if you’re not perfect at protecting your kids (and yourself) from the sun, keep on trying and do the best you can. Watch this, forward it to those you know and love, and for the love of all that is holy, wear sunscreen and make sure you put it on your kids!

Explore posts in the same categories: Bodily Functions, Family, Friends, General Stuff, Kids, Life

Leave a Reply

