Parting Is SUCH Sweet Sorrow

My husband doesn’t believe me, but I really did like his car. Which became my car. And as of last night, is someone else’s car.

This Acura MDX was, other than borrowing my dad’s cars over the years, the nicest car I’ve driven.

But as you know (if you read this blog), we’ve had some problems with said car. After having to deal with yet another stupid issue, I really felt like we needed to get something newer and with a lot fewer miles than the 125k our MDX was sporting. But just like childbirth, I kind of forgot about my promise to “list it the day we get it back” from the shop. But I couldn’t ignore my instincts forever, and I knew it was time to let go and say goodbye.

So we fixed all the problems, made her look pretty and ready for the show, and listed the MDX. The story of how we sold it is a funny one, but let’s just say that I am now text buddies with an NFL player. Seriously, I am.

I’m glad that our car has gone to someone who wanted it and will hopefully take care of it, but I had some pangs of regret as I was saying goodbye. I was actually sad about a stupid car. But I reminded myself that as a family of 7 (8 if you count the dog), we need something that has more storage/stowing capabilities, is set up in a way that the kids can get to the 3rd row of seating without having to high jump the middle seat, can seat all of us AND the dog, and most importantly, is something that has a little less wear and tear and a lot more dependability.

Mr. N, I’m sorry that the very last essence of “coolness” is gone, but I think it will be best in the long run. And I think you underestimate how sexy a man driving a minivan is :).

Explore posts in the same categories: Driving, Family, Good Times, Kids, Life

2 Comments on “Parting Is SUCH Sweet Sorrow”

  1. Matt Says:

    A man driving a minivan is only sexy if he has kids of his own to drive around and/or is married.

    Anyway, it’s cool that you sold it to an NFL player and now are text buddies.

  2. erica Says:

    I bet selling it was bittersweet. It WAS a cool car, but it’s always a relief to get rid of something that hemorrhages problems. I can’t wait to hear the story about who you sold it to! šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

