Pyros Holiday

July 4th is one of my favorite holidays for a couple of reasons. 1) I love the summer, and for me the 4th means friends, family, bbq’s and fun. 2) I think that holidays have become so incredibly materialistic. I LOVE having a holiday where I don’t have to buy gifts! 3) Fireworks!

This 4th we didn’t have the kids, and while the weekend was fun, the day itself was somewhat anticlimactic. Oh wait, we DID have a sprinkling manifold break and our neighbors big firework fell over and shot fireworks at neighboring homes, including ours. So I can’t say that it was fully uneventful. Even with all of that excitement, I did miss having our kids for the festivities. But we’ll make up for it on the 24th!

The meaning of the holiday didn’t escape me. I thought a lot this weekend about this country, where it’s been and where it’s going. Despite any fears and concerns, I love this country, and I hope that I can in some way contribute to making it the wonderful place it can be.

Today a few friends and I took our kids to Bear Park, which is probably the coolest park around :). I love getting to spend time with these fun and amazing women, AND I was able to meet Jessica, who I really enjoyed getting to know a little. I hope I see more of you! It’s so fun to see all of the kids play together, even though the age range is fairly big. What a great group of beautiful kids! I also love to see how my oldest son is so cute and gentle with babies and younger kids. While he may not be overly confident in his baby skills, he really is a natural with the young folk. He’ll make a great dad some day.

Later this week I am taking a trip out-of-town with my girlfriends (the Hawaii “crew”), and I’m looking forward to leaving sprinkling systems, laundry, and cares behind. It’s only for a few days, but sometimes that’s all that’s needed for a little recharge. I will miss the hubby and kids, but I think they can survive without me for a few days. Barely :).

Explore posts in the same categories: General Stuff

4 Comments on “Pyros Holiday”

  1. erica Says:

    Bear Park WAS fun today!! So glad we could get together! We do have a great group of kids, and NO, Mr. Ice Cream Man, we DO NOT want any ice cream! Move it along, sir! 😉 Have fun on your trip!

  2. Matt Says:

    I was happy that our state’s new fireworks laws did not result in any more fires than previous years. There were a lot of real cool displays by people in the area this 4th.

  3. Jessica Says:

    It was so fun hanging out with you! Hopefully we will do it again, soon! Your kids were adorable with William! I love it!

  4. Piper Says:

    Ian with the little ones makes me tender!! We are all so lucky to have each other!!! Good luck with your sprinkler, and have a wonderful trip! love you Meggy!


Leave a Reply

