It’s Gotta Go Wednesday

A cracked manifold of a sprinkler system is SO not cool. Typically it means replacing that cracked piece. However, when the manufacturer of the said manifold no longer makes that model AND it is impossible to retrofit to make repairs, you have two choices. 1) Cry, stomp your feet, and then fork out $130 bucks for the new system. 2) Talk to the home improvement store sprinkler expert, follow his advice to call manufacturer BECAUSE they are located only 30 minutes away AND because they have been “really great to help customers”.

You see, they redesigned the system because the old system sucked. It sucked because the manifold cracks. And while I was at Lowes discussing this, which was literally only 3 minutes, TWO OTHER PEOPLE with the EXACT same problem with the EXACT same system showed up, and the guy told us the EXACT same thing.

I figured saving $100+ bucks was worth a phone call and a drive. After 50 minutes on hold, they finally took my call. Let me start by saying that the call ended up with me getting the parts I need put in will call, and after I finish this post, I’m heading north to pick them up. But the guy on the phone kept asking me questions and telling me that my failures at winterizing and being a good sprinkler owner in general is what caused the problem.

OK, I’m no expert, but I know how to winterize a sprinkling system. I’ve owned a home for 13+ years, and I’ve NEVER had a manifold break, or sprinklers freeze, or anything happen to my sprinkling system because of maintenance issues. I never did lose my cool or not be nice, and neither did he, really, but at one point, he said “listen, I don’t want to argue with you, I’m just saying that your manifold cracked probably because it froze”.

In a nice way, I reminded him that the sprinklers have been running for 2 months, and if it had frozen and cracked from improper winterizing, it would have done so ON THE FIRST USE. I also let him know that within a time span of less than 3 minutes, there were 3 customers at ONE store with the same issue on THEIR identical product… the one that has been completely redesigned cuz it sucks. I also let him know what the department manager is the one who told me to call and let me know that the design was faulty, and this is a problem MANY people are having, and that is why they redesigned the system and don’t even make a way for you to repair the problem… you have to replace the system.

Like I said, I ended up getting (I hope) what I need at no cost, but it has and will cost me time. That’s OK. I just don’t appreciate being argued with when I actually happen to know what I am talking about. I am not some incompetent female fool (not that there’s anything WRONG with that) who barely knows how to screw a hose onto the tap.

If you are going to sell a product and guarantee that product, how about not arguing with the customer and telling him/her why the faulty item failed when it’s your crappy companies design flaws that caused it! What happened to “the customer is always right”? It’s called customer service people, so just shut up and give me what I want.

Explore posts in the same categories: Beotch & Moan...Woe is me

One Comment on “It’s Gotta Go Wednesday”

  1. Matt Says:

    Was it an Orbit manifold?


Leave a Reply

