Dude… That’s Deep

This post is dedicated to my friend, Grunt (and his mysteriously disappearing post 😉 )… may you find your path.

I recently happened upon a quote that is probably the most personally profound statement I’ve ever read or heard, and it’s something I’ve thought about every day since I first read it.

People take different roads seeking fulfillment and happiness. Just because they’re not on your road doesn’t mean they’ve gotten lost. – Dalai Lama

I’m not sure what this means to other people, but to me it resonates more deeply than I can express (at least very well).

In recent years, I’ve changed directions and definitely taken a slight detour from the path that I was on… a path that most people in my life were probably more comfortable with me being on. Some might say that I fell off of the this path and became lost. But I know that I’ve taken a scenic, alternate route, which sometimes runs parallel to my previous path, and sometimes not.

Talking about my these changes has been something I’ve really hesitated to do. Not because I question my decision. In fact, it is something I feel very comfortable and at peace about. But I don’t want to make other people uncomfortable, including myself. My “path” is such a personal one that it’s not something I want to defend, nor do I think I should have to. The truth is: I’m not really much different than I’ve always been. My moral and ethical convictions are as strong as they’ve ever been, and I am still commited to being an honest and empathetic woman, although I am far from perfect. I make choices based on a number of different factors, including wants and desires, but more importantly, I follow what I call my “moral compass”. I don’t do what is “right” out of fear or guilt. I try to do what is right because it’s the right thing to do. I try to make choices that I am proud of, that would make my children proud, that will make me a better person and mother, and better the world around me. Do I always succeed? No. But such is life.

I guess the reason I like the quote is that it describes better than I could ever articulate how I feel in terms of the choices I’ve made in my life and where my path continues to take me.

I believe I was put on this earth for a purpose, and every once in a while I get these small, brief glances at my purpose being fulfilled. By no means am I Gandhi, but I am a work in progress. I believe and have faith in God, that he loves me unconditionally, that he IS my biggest cheerleader, even when I am losing the game. I believe that the little bumps in my path, whether I pass over them gently or trip and fall flat on my face, are simply experiences which teach me and prepare me for the next obstacle. Ultimately, I believe to my very core that when it’s all said and done, it WILL all work out and it WILL be OK.

After reading this quote, I thought about how it applies to me and how I judge those on a different path. Being tolerant and accepting of other people’s paths, even when I think they are stupid, is something I know I need to work on.

I get why it’s hard to watch someone you care about take a path different from your own, especially when you think your path is the one that will lead to fulfillment and happiness. As a parent, it’s hard to watch my children make choices that I find, well, completely idiotic. So I can imagine how seeing someone you love and care about take a different path than the one that is right for you could bring up feelings of sadness and disappointment. I can only speak for myself, and for me, for the first time in my life, I feel like I am on the path that I need to be on… one that does bring happiness and fulfillment.

Explore posts in the same categories: Babble, Family, Friends, Life

2 Comments on “Dude… That’s Deep”

  1. Grunt Says:

    Thanks, M! I’m keeping membership until my dad passes. He’s the only one that I feel an obligation to, with regards to tradition. I have been testing people around me slowly and some have no clue while others are aware. Those that are catching on are not talking to me as much or at all now. I may not end up severing ties officially, but for me there is just no going back to that system mentally, emotionally, or spiritually anymore. I can’t do it. I admire and love the people, but I can’t go along with it or pretend it’s what they say it is. I can shut my mouth. I don’t feel the need to rain on their parade, either. But, I’ll sure hear it from them in spades some day, I’m sure. I’ll figure something out. Anyway, this post means a lot to me:)

  2. meggypoo Says:

    I think we’re on the same page G. I have no desire to do anything “official”, and frankly, I have no animosity nor will you hear me say negative things about the path or anyone on it… most of my favorite people, who I also happen to respect, are on that path. But like you, I cannot pretend, even for the sake of others. It would be unauthentic and would actually be me going against my beliefs to do so. I keep my mouth shut about it, but the little comments and semi-cryptic statements make me feel not like I have to explain, but just reassure that I really am OK.


Leave a Reply

