You Go Girls

This is a fairly opinionated post. You may not agree with my point of view, and that’s fine. You are entitled to your opinion. You just happen to be wrong 🙂

I learned to swim at an early age, just shy of 2. I don’t think that my mom had strong feelings or convictions about teaching her kids to swim, but my older siblings had joined the swim team at the neighborhood country club, and putting me into a class just made sense. My mom tells me that I was like a fish in the water and was a quick study. I’ve loved swimming ever since.

When I was about 8 years old, my 5 year old cousin drown. I was young, but it definitely left an impression. My ex also lost a cousin to drowning at a family reunion. His cousin was 2, and the image of his lifeless body being pulled from the creek by his father really affected him. So when we had our first, we were adamant about making sure any of our kids would learn how to swim at an early age. We enrolled our oldest in a baby/mommy swim class when he was 8 months old, and swimming lessons when he was a toddler. He was a good swimmer by age 4, and his siblings learned how to swim at about the same age.

I know that not everyone views swimming as important of a skill as I do. Yes it’s fun, but first and foremost, I think it is something everyone should know how to do for safety reasons. Kids fall into pools, lakes, streams, etc. As a parent, I feel like it was my responsiblity to at the very least give them a fighting chance should something unexpected happen. Less importantly, but still a highlight, I wanted my kids to be able to enjoy the water as much as I did and do.

My dear husband does not share the same love of water that I do. He can swim, but it’s not as much of a passion to him as it is to me. And neither of his girls have learned how. But since we married 2+ years ago, we have both felt like it was important that his girls learn how to swim. Fast forward a few years (and me nagging) with it not happening, this summer I took things into my own hands and found an awesome girl (OK, I guess she’s a woman) in our neighborhood who teaches private lessons at her home.

Lexi is SUPER cute with the girls, and also an excellent teacher.

Today was the girls final lesson for the summer, and while they aren’t ready for the Olympics quite yet, they can swim across the length of the pool all on their own! I’m so proud of them for overcoming their fears and learning these new skills. And it’s reassuring to know that if they somehow find themselves in a pool or some other body of water, they can get themselves out or at least float until help arrives NOTE: Always keep your eyes on your kids when they are swimming, even if they know how.

In the past, our visits to my parents home in St. George consisted of all of the other kids swimming ALL DAY, with the girls in the hot tub or holding on to the wall on the shallow end. I’ve felt really bad that they weren’t able to join in the fun everyone else was having, such as diving “contests”, tag, and other pool games. Now they have the basics down and I know the more they practice, the better they’ll get, and the more fun they’ll have.

Congrats Riley & Alex… you’re swimmers now!

 

Explore posts in the same categories: General Stuff

One Comment on “You Go Girls”

  1. erica Says:

    My kids don’t know how to swim, either. Thanks for bringing up some great points – I think swimming lessons are in our future!


Leave a Reply

