I’m Not Dead. Yet.

I’m still alive, in spite of my dwindling posts as of late.

There are two main reasons I’ve been staying away, and they both happen to do with work.

I’m still nursing my two real estate deals along, but it looks like there might actually be an end in sight… someday. Not only are these two simultaneously going on, but I’ve had various issues along the way. That is not uncommon in real estate, and the good thing about being in this profession is that even after years, you still learn something new from every transaction.

The agent stuff has kept me busy, but the real time murderer is my new job. And after a few teases here and there, I’m taking this time, at 7:30 am on a Saturday morning, which is about first second I’ve had to catch my breath these days, to tell you about it.

I am working for a property management company whose home base is located just below  Solitude Ski Resort. I’m working at the office 3 days per week, and I while I’m sure my tune will change once snow hits, I couldn’t ask for a more beautiful place to go to. Here is what I get to see when I look out the window at my place of employment.

The leaves are just starting to change, and for now, the 30 minute drive isn’t too bad.

The other part of this job is more of an “on call” thing that I am able to do from home.

I’ve been “training” for the past month, and getting various details worked out definitely took longer than expected. But I’m now up and running, and feel like I have a pretty good grasp on things. There is still a lot to learn, but as the season gets into swing, I have no doubt I’ll be baptized by fire. The great thing about it is that I actually am enjoying the job. Not only are the hours ideal (the majority of the hours are when my kids are in school), but it being part-time makes me feel like I might actually have a chance to still have a life and be a good mom/wife AND work :).

The first “real” day on the job was INSANE for me. Actually, the past week has been a crazy one. I thought working (partially) from home would be easy. HA! I have had some days that between my two jobs I’ve put in 10-12 hours, and went to bed with a ton of stuff left to do. PLUS, I have those 5 kids that sort of need me. I think the words, “I might have a nervous breakdown soon” and “I wish that there were 30 hours in a day” might have escaped my lips at some point. Luckily things have calmed the past 3 days. Or maybe I’m finding my niche and getting into the swing of things. But now you know why I’ve been a little M.I.A.

This morning I’m sitting at a booth for the charity that I sit on the board for. Other than that, I hope to have a weekend that entails me catching up on laundry and housework, and also wiping the sweat from the brow of Mr. N while watching the HOLY WAR tonight :).

Explore posts in the same categories: Family, Motherhood, Work

Leave a Reply

