It’s Gotta Go Wednesday

There are aspects about my job (the newer one) that I absolutely love. I’ve never really considered myself  a customer rep/sales type of person, but that’s exactly what managing a condo, making a reservation, and seeing it through for people is about. You’d think that renting a condo is pretty straight forward… You figure out the unit you want, the dates, pay for it, read the agreement, and we’re good to go.

I was not prepared for all of the extra “care” people need, want, and expect. Every day is filled with trying to make guests happy. Sometimes they are easy going and make reasonable requests. Extra towels, a portable crib for a baby, etc. MOST of the people I come in contact are understanding and very appreciative.

And then there are the others.

Some people want an early check-in and a late check-out, which we will do for them if we can. But if someone is checking in or out of that same condo that day, we can’t do it. Sometimes people understand. Others are indignant and act as if their needs supersede everything and everyone else. Then there was the guy who wanted to come in at midnight, stay in “his” condo (which someone else has booked for that night), and not pay for an extra night because it’s not a full day. Some people just don’t get it.

I’d love to be a fly on the wall and see how these people live. There are those who ask if there is someone who will come and wash their dishes. Um, no. This is not a hotel. This is a privately owned condo. And who the hell can’t wash their own dishes after a meal?! Bring your maid and get a separate condo for her/him if you can’t hack cleaning up after yourself for a few days. Oh yes, and can I deliver groceries for them? No? Why not? I’m surprised no one has asked if there is someone available for butt wiping.

As I said, I really like most aspects of my job. But it’s crazy to see how some people have a sense of entitlement that rivals that of a $20 million per movie actor.

Luckily (an sometimes not so luckily), I haven’t been in a situation where I wasn’t able to at least someone accommodate a guests needs. I will go above and beyond to make people happy, and as of now, no complaints.

Renting a condo at a ski resort and expecting that you’re going to get the service of the Ritz… it’s gotta go!

Explore posts in the same categories: General Stuff

2 Comments on “It’s Gotta Go Wednesday”

  1. matt Says:

    I’m thinking that having my butt wiped for me would be creepy and expensive.

  2. erica Says:

    So you’re saying that’s a no when I want someone to go and warm up my car for me when it’s too cold outside and I don’t want to do it myself? 😉


Leave a Reply

