Grateful Thursday

Not that this is going to be a weekly thing, but I always feel the need to offset my Wednesday posts with something a little more positive. Hopefully you’ve come to realize that I’m making a little fun of myself with the weekly posts… complaining about things that are funny albeit annoying. But mostly I’m bringing to light that really, my life is pretty dang good. The “bad” really isn’t too bad. And a lot of it is just about entertaining and making you laugh.

I mentioned my trip to Santa Barbara a few weeks ago. What I didn’t tell you was the details of why I went. OK, the gist of it: I’m on (or I was… this was my last term) the board of a foundation named after my grandparents. They were philanthropists, and my family is following suit.

For the 3rd year in a row, I put forth a proposal for charity of which I am also on the board (I’m one of 3 Board of Directors, which is a title that makes me laugh). Anyway, since this was my last year on my family’s board, I figured it was my real best shot at getting some money for my other organization. I asked, and once again, they delivered.

I know that not everyone loves giving this organization, but because they see how passionate I am, and just because I am part of the family, the have been generous. I was elated when I was able to get $5,000 this year… and a total of $20,000 over the past 3 years!

Serving on the board of my family’s foundation has been a great experience (and not only because of the free vacations). I’d like to think that not only have I learned about the internal organization and working parts of a foundation, but it’s taught me about the struggles of others. Last but not least, it’s taught me about giving, and what a little compassion AND money can do.

I’m also thankful to (still) be on the board of the organization in which I’ve donated much of my time and have fought to raise money for. Even with all of my faults, I know I have made a positive contribution and difference in this world. And for all that I’ve done or given, it’s given back to me 10 fold.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: General Stuff

2 Comments on “Grateful Thursday”

  1. matt Says:

    Right on!

  2. piper Says:

    I love it! I love how smart, caring, compassionate, and funny you are. You contribute to this world in many ways. And in official ways too! love you!


Leave a Reply

