Good Things

If you read yesterdays post, you know that I hurt my neck. It’s been happening since I was 22 or so, and a few times per year, my neck goes nuts. It entails lots of pain not only in my neck but there is a bonus… it shoots between my shoulders. There is also my inability to turn my head, or really move it much at all (sorry to all of the drivers I cut off… checking my blind spot is a tricky thing during these “episodes”).

Unfortunately it’s been a pretty busy week for me, so the rest me and my neck wanted just wasn’t happening. Yesterday afternoon I started feeling unwell. It started with a headache, which often accompanies the neck crap. By 5 p.m., I was in full migraine mode. I don’t get migraines a lot, but man, I don’t miss them. I developed nausea and a general feeling of wishing I was unconscious by 6 p.m. And then I started freaking out because… I was supposed be at the Utah State Capitol by 8:30 a.m. the next morning to accept a grant for the awesome charity I work with.

Utah Autism Give (AUG) is the great organization that I am a part of (founded by one of the most awesomeist and bestus women in the world, Leeann Whiffen), and the Autism Counsel of Utah generously awarded our little charity $1,000 this year. YAHOO! Leeann was going to be out of town, so she asked me if I could be there when they presented.

Last night I sent Leeann a text, letting her know that I was pretty sure I was going to die, and what if I couldn’t make it the next day? She told me to not worry about if I couldn’t. When I got her response, I was resolved to make it no matter what. Luckily this morning when I woke up, my neck was still hatin’ it but I felt fine otherwise.

What a wonderful opportunity to be able to sit in this large room packed with so many people… parents, grandparents, educators, doctors, and other professionals who are so dedicated to helping improve the lives of those with autism and their families. I felt honored to be a part of this group, and the energy I felt in this room will help keep me going when many of the avenues I go down to try and raise money for our amazing charity doesn’t lead anywhere (other than me frustrated).

Life if crazy. I know what it feels like to have a full plate and more portions on the way. I know what it’s like to feel like there are not enough hours in the day to get everything done. That being said, get involved! Whether it’s a cause that personally affects you, your family, or friends. Or maybe you’ve seen a news story or read an article that moved you. Just find somewhere or something where there is a need, and get involved. Got no money? No problem! Sometimes just a few hours of your time a month can help! Got money but no time? You’re needed too. Don’t know what to donate your time or money too? UAG is an incredibly wonderful place to start (I can give you info. if you’re interested).

I can say from personal experience that every time I do something for someone else without any expectations and unconditionally, I am better for it. It makes me happier, more empathetic, more mindful, and more appreciative of the health of me and my family.

I guess what I’m trying to say is… Just do something!

Explore posts in the same categories: General Stuff

2 Comments on “Good Things”

  1. matt Says:

    Awesome!

  2. erica Says:

    Imagine the good that could be done in the world if people were more aware of others and less aware of themselves! You’re a wonderful example for all of us! 🙂


Leave a Reply

