It’s Gotta Go Wednesday

Pharmacies… we’ve probably all had multiple experiences with these places. Throughout my adult life, I’ve used various pharmacies to fill prescriptions for me and my family.

Ideally, I’d like to drop off a the written prescription, have it filled, pay my money, and leave. However, a handful of times it seems like have to pass an oral exam, or am in an interrogation room when I go to get a prescription filled.

I remember when I decided I would never go back to a certain grocery store pharmacy after what I felt was a very unprofessional move. There were tons of people around, waiting for their meds, including me. When it was my turn, they called out my name AND the medicine I was getting. What the hell! It’s not like I was getting meth or something for an STD, but I also thought it was terribly unprofessional to let every other customer know what drug I was taking.

Then there was a time when I was filling a prescription for my son. At the counter, I seriously got the 3rd degree from the tech as to WHY my child was taking this adult drug. She wanted to know the dr’s diagnosis, his history, what purpose the doctor felt this certain drug would serve, etc. I understand that pharmacists job is to make sure there aren’t any possible interactions or dangers to a patient, and so some questions are natural. HOWEVER, this woman asking me why the doctor prescribed it, etc… I wanted to tell her that if his physician thought it was warranted, than really it was none of her damn business, which I essentially did (in a nice way).

I now get most of my prescriptions filled through an online pharmacy, which ends up being cheaper, and they contact my dr. directly if I need a refill or if there are any questions. LOVE IT! But when I need to get an antibiotic or something right away for one of the kids or something for myself, I will use the pharmacy at my local grocery store. I like the guy, but during a certain point in time when I was having some female “issues”, I got to hear all about his wife, her hysterectomy, and got quizzed the severity, consistency, etc of my hemorrhaging. It was awesome.

I’m not a terribly private person, and I don’t get embarrassed by functions of the human body. But I don’t really enjoy discussing these in depth with strangers because frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn if you’re curious or what your opinion is about what my doctor just prescribed.

Just give me my drugs and I’ll be on my way. Anything more, it’s gotta go.

Explore posts in the same categories: General Stuff

One Comment on “It’s Gotta Go Wednesday”

  1. matt Says:

    The best is when they tell you with their “outdoor voice” what the sexual side effects are of your prescriptions.


Leave a Reply

