The Results Are In

Last Friday I had a dr. appointment with my primary care physician to do some blood work to make sure my dose on a medication was where it should be (it’s something I have to have done every year). ANYWAY, this appointment reminded me that while I don’t enjoy going any dr. appointment, I happen to love my doctor.

The reasons why are endless. OK, there are least a handful. First of all, I almost never have to wait. He is the only physician in the practice, and they are excellent about not over-scheduling him. I usually wait 1-3 minutes in the waiting room, and then always less than 3-4 minutes in the exam room. Friday, I got there at 10:30, and left his office at 10:48. He doesn’t rush through that appointment… he takes his time, asks the right questions, answers all of my questions, and throws a few jokes in there. I really like his personality as well. He is warm and caring without being cheesy or sappy. He’s also very empathetic and I never feel judged or uncomfortable. Last but not least, I think he is really knowledgeable, and as a doctor, he really knows what he’s talking about.

He doesn’t always wait for me to share a symptom or complaint. He takes the initiative. A few years ago he had my Vitamin D tested, and I found out it was incredibly low, and started me on supplements to get my levels up. He had me get a booster for whooping cough this last visit because there have been outbreaks in Utah (although that may make my Wednesday post). I don’t feel like one of thousands of patients when I go into his office… he knows me, remembers my medical history, and follows up with things that have been an issue in the past. In short, my doctor rocks!

 

Explore posts in the same categories: General Stuff

Leave a Reply

