The Good, The Bad, and The Chocolate Brownies

Yesterday started off good, except that I woke up really early (which is always pretty lame when I CAN sleep in). But that changed pretty quickly. I got a call around 9 a.m. from my oldest, who was at his dad’s for the weekend. When I missed the call that came on our home phone, and then he quickly dialed my cell, I knew in my gut that something wasn’t right.

There had been a fire at his dad’s house. While there wasn’t too much damage and everyone got out of the house, the kids were pretty freaked out. Not everyone escaped unscathed. The kids dad had been injured in his successful attempt at putting out the fire. Injured enough that he was taken by ambulance to the hospital and had to have surgery to repair 2 severed arteries and a damaged muscle, as well as have other injuries stitched up. I do have to give a shout out to Ian and Cooper, who were the ones who smelled the smoke, discovered the fire, and alerted their dad. Everyone else was still asleep, and if the boys hadn’t done exactly as they’ve been taught, who knows what would have happened. They are heroes!

I will admit it did cross my mind that I was glad that I wasn’t still in that house and in that situation, and it really wasn’t my problem. However, some of the most important members of my family WERE there, and those 3 people ARE my priority and responsibility. I didn’t hesitate to get in my car and “rescue” my children as soon as I hung up the phone. When I drove over to the house to get the kids, 2 of the 3 burst into tears as soon as they saw me. Have you ever been through something traumatic, but kept it all together UNTIL you see a certain someone, and then the floodgates open. It was hard to see the fear in the kids eyes. Especially Emma. She was so scared by what had happened, and was so worried about her dad. I was just happy that my babies were OK, and that I could be there for them. Even though I knew they were OK, I couldn’t relax on the drive over to the house until they were safe in my arms.

We took all 5 of the kids to lunch and to play miniature golf. While I know it’s not the Father’s Day afternoon that had been planned and anticipated, and all didn’t go as planned nor was it ideal, this was kind of an emergency, and my kids really needed their mom.

Long story short, their dad will be OK (after a few weeks of recovery), and I think the fear and shock for the kids has started to wear off. BUT, I haven’t talked about the good part yet!

We were having everyone (think 18 people) over to our house for a Father’s Day dinner. My dad’s ribs (seriously, some of the best I’ve ever had), fresh scones that my mom made in the backyard, twice baked potatoes and some yummy salads were what I call an awesome banquet. The brownies covered in marshmallow and caramel… heaven. Let’s just say that I don’t think anyone went to bed hungry.

The food was amazing, but watching all of the kids run around and play together was my favorite part. And it wouldn’t be a summer party at our house without an impromptu water fight. The best was watching my 2 year old nephew wield the hose and soak all of his cousins. And thanks to Greg, water balloons helped in the wet and wild fun :).

If nothing else, yesterday reminded me of what is most important in life… family. We are there for each other during traumas, when we’re scared, and when life isn’t going great. But we also get to share the best of times together. Whatever the circumstances, we’ve got each others backs and we get to experience life’s highs and lows together. And I wouldn’t want to live this life any other way.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Explore posts in the same categories: General Stuff

Leave a Reply

